Lower Sixth students Lucy O’Callaghan and Libby Almedya have written up a lesson on the six most recent Economics Nobel Prizes as part of their A level Economics course. 

In the following publication, Lucy and Libby look back at the successes of prize-winners Angus Deaton (2015); Oliver Hart and Bengt Holmstrom (2016); Richard H. Thaler (2017); William D Nordhaus and Paul M Romer (2018); Abhijit Banerjee, Esther Duflo and Michael Kremer (2019) and Paul Milgrom and Robert Wilson (2020).

In order to understand the challenges facing the world we live in, it is crucial to comprehend the models that propel advances in modern economic thinking.

In our macroeconomics class, we broadened our insights of applied economics by diving into the recent work of several economists who have significantly contributed to radical changes in economic theory. We researched and discussed the Economics Nobel Prizes from 2015 to the most recent one in 2020. This gave us a real insight into current economic debates and how economics is trying to tackle issues ranging from poverty to climate change.

Read the full publication