Pupils from each year group once again took to the paths and grass of Wandsworth Common for the annual House Cross-Country event.

Despite the move to a weekend fixture, the number of runners (238, or 24% of the school) was higher than the rolling average for the last three years.  The conditions were perfect for running, slightly soft under foot and a mild chill to the air.

We saw some outstanding performances throughout the day, but it was the Year 7 boys’ race which provided the best competition with the top five all recording excellent times and finishing in quick succession. There was a tough battle between Izzy Perry and Hugo Kelly to take the honours in the Year 9 race, where Hugo eventually pulled away from Izzy in the latter stages of the contest. Daniel Benton managed to win the Year 13 boys’ race, despite taking time out to explore the common creating his own longer route. And final congratulations go to the houses of Rodney and Drake who won the senior and junior competitions, respectively.

Mr King (Head of Cross-Country)

Race category 1st 2nd 3rd Team
Year 7 girls Olivia Aitken Robyn Eastlake Dorothy Scroones Clyde
Year 7 boys Barney Knight Moses Inyundo Matthew Woodward Drake
Year 8 girls Kaia Shaw Eva Walsh Sophia Barnett Drake
Year 8 boys Fergus Hegan Kieran Bailes Max Aylwin Wellington
Year 9 girls Izzy Perry Emma Hooley Ruby Nicklin Wellington
Year 9 boys Hugo Kelly Felix Patten Harry Graham Drake
Year 10 girls Fleur Todd-Warmoth Izzy Burghes Caitlin Morgan Howe
Year 10 boys Theo Saltissi Oliver Marsden Marley Milliship Howe
Year 11 girls Phoebe Bucknall Mathilda Bedi Sophie Lake Rodney
Year 11 boys Aron Jackson Alex Smith Ben Lindrea Howe
Year 12 girls Georgie Clarke Rhoslyn Helmer Bobbie Fletcher Howe
Year 12 boys Daniel Benton Edward Newton Harper Dammann-Smith Marlborough
Year 13 girls Zara Bowes Eve Harper Leah Ryder-Richardson Rodney
Year 13 boys Rocco Craven Nathaniel Reilly Charlie Sinclair Marlborough